Scholarships to 10 Young Artists 2010-2011

Chandigarh Lalit Kala Akademi
(State Academy of Art)
Scholarships given to 10 Young Artists
20-35 years of age

Chandigarh Lalit Kala Akademi is pleased to announce the names of the young artistes (20 – 35 years of age) selected for receiving Scholarships by Chandigarh Lalit Kala Akademi for the year 2010-2011.

This is the third batch of artists being given scholarships since 2008.

The selected young artistes would be given Rs.36,000/- each (Rs. 3,000/- per month for one year). The scholarships are given in the names of renowned personalities from the world of art including Rabindranath Tagore, Amrita Shergill, Dr. M. S. Randhawa, Le Corbusier, Manjit Bawa, J. Swaminathan, Jamini Roy, F. N. Souza, Sohan Qadri and Dr. Mulk Raj Anand.

The Scholarship programme, which is a first of its kind by any Akademi in the region, is a part of Chandigarh Lalit Kala Akademi’s continuing efforts to promote, disseminate and encourage art and culture in this region and nationally. The scholarships are aimed to promote research and quest for individual signatures by the young artists in their respective fields.

The scholarship were open to artists residing in Chandigarh and its two satelite towns – Panchkula and Mohali for disciplines of drawing, graphics/ print making, painting, sculpture, multi -media, photography and installation.

All the scholarships are sponsored by various individual and corporate sponsors, which include:
ABC Paper – Pavan Khaitan, Key Foundation – Sonam Grewal and Anuraj Sandhu, Groz Beckert Asia Pvt Ltd, Micron Instruments – Vikram Sahgal, Mount Shivalik Breweries – Rajiv Bali, Paramjit Singh – Painter, Winsome Foundation – Ashish Bagrodia, Winsome Foundation – Manish Bagrodia, IndianARTCollectors .Com – Anuja Lath, Kamla Dials – Yashovardhan Saboo.

The work done by the scholars will be reviewed quarterly and would also be showcased in an exhibition at the end of the tenure of the scholarship.

The following Young Artists are being given Scholarships by Chandigarh Lalit Kala Akademi for the year 2010-2011

Names of Artist
Gagandeep Kaur, Kapoor Saini, Kuljeet Kaur, Lakhwinder Singh, Manjot Kaur, Nayan M.Kalita, Naresh Kumar, Ravish Kala, Robin Singh, Seema.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s